Sheer Cover Review for Influenster

Sheer Cover Concealer in Light/Medium

Before you scroll down… WARNING… images of girl without tons of makeup on her face may frighten young children, douche bags and the faint of heart. You’ve been warned!

Ok, I’m exaggerating a little. Hardly anyone looks good without makeup on, I am aware of this fact. In the pictures below you’ll see me before any make-up, after applying foundation and Sheer Cover concealer, then with full color make-up (ie. blush, eye liner, lipstick etc). I applied my foundation first (as I always do), THEN apply my concealer. My theory is that “your foundation should be your foundation, then anything that needs covered after foundation, can be concealed… with concealer, duh.” Simple theory. It has worked for me so far and it makes logical sense, so why change it? The foundation I’m wearing can be purchased at any drugstore. It’s cheap, ivory in color and has light-medium coverage; basically what I’m trying to say is that it’s nothing special. Anyone can buy it anywhere. THIS review is on the concealer!

Image from Influenster.com

Firstly, if you’ll notice this concealer contains two sides. Each side holds a different color in the same general shade family. I received the “Light” which is the lightest shade Sheer Cover offers. This is so you can blend the two tones together to make a perfect match to your skin tone. I love this duo tone concept!

I used Sheer Cover on the “darker” and “redder” areas of my face such as under and around my eyes, around my nose, the corners of my mouth, acne scars on chin and cheeks, and between my eyebrows above my nose.

The Pros: Coverage is pretty good (not absolute full coverage, but good for a sheer coverage product, it builds really well), has nice packaging, very cool and practical duo tone concept (why hasn’t anyone thought of this before?)

The Cons: Kinda on the oily side. I would definitely recommend to someone with dry skin. If you have oily skin you may want to test it before purchasing to make sure it can hold up to your skins oiliness. I say this because some people have oily skin, but not bad enough to not try this product and others have a hard time using lightweight products like this Sheer Cover concealer. So, if you have major oily skin you may want to pass on trying this and stick with whatever you’re using or find something made for extra oily skin. Other than that, give it a shot, it pretty good.

My Conclusion: I went in thinking I would not like this concealer because it is sheer coverage (as the name implies), so I wasn’t expecting an absolute full coverage job. But it actually surprised me. It actually covered pretty well considering I’m used to using a heavy, cakey, full coverage, camouflage concealer. I would definitely recommend if you only have mild skin discolorations (such as under eyes, around nose, corners of mouth or acne scars). It is a bit on the oily side so I would recommend this product MORE for people with dry skin. Great summertime concealer!

I put more information about this product below and links to the Sheer Cover website and a link to read other reviews on this product.

Visit Sheer Cover’s Official website at http://www.sheercover.com
Also, check them out on Twitter @sheercover
Sheer Cover Duo Concealer
Sheer Cover® Concealer is perfect for all skin types and tones. Our concealer is a customer favorite offering a custom blend for the various shades on your face and covers up imperfections. It not only covers up the look of dark circles, blemishes, redness and age spots, it also moisturizes with Jojoba and Allantoin.

It instantly conceals blemishes, dark spots, hyperpigmentation and uneven skin tone – we’ve got life’s little imperfections covered!

KEY BENEFITS:
Instantly covers skin imperfections for a flawless, natural look
Variable coverage – sheer and creamy perfect for under eye circles or more opaque for blemishes, dark spots and hyperpigmentation
Easy application – glides on, won’t pull or tug at fragile skin
Enriched with natural, moisturizing Jojoba to help nourish and restore the skins’ natural moisture balance
Allantoin helps calm and soothe sensitive, irritated skin
Provides antioxidant protection from free-radical scavengers
Dermatologist-tested

HOW TO USE:
Using fingertips, concealer brush or a cosmetic sponge dab a small amount of concealer on area to be covered. Blend well. Start sheer, adding layers to increase coverage. Wear alone, under or over makeup. Let dry before applying makeup.
Where to Buy:
Customers can visit www.SheerCover.com or call 1-877-489-2035 to purchase Sheer Cover.
$29.95 for the concealer (non-member price) and $29.95 for the introductory system, which also includes the Duo Concealer.

Disclaimer: I did receive this product complimentary to test through Influenster’s VoxBox program, but all opinions are my own. I hope people can tell by my “not always positive” reviews that I’m being honest about what I think of the products I receive. Also, ANYONE can sign up to receive an Influenster VoxBox, you don’t have to have “connections” to be eligible. It probably helps to have all or a combination of Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Pinterest, Tumblr, and Instagram accounts. Just sayin.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Crazy & Random. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

